Daily Prompt: Gone

I let myself into our flat.

Expecting to see you.

The lights were off and it was cold, I could feel something had changed

The silence oppressed. In the silence, I’m reminded of all the times.

So many times, you were quiet.

Moving away quietly and slowly.

Away so far that I had to shout for you to hear me.

But too distracted was I to notice you going.

Too distracted to notice you at all.

Standing in the kitchen alone, I realized it all too late

Your scribbled note had said goodbye. But you had already left long ago.

via Daily Prompt: Gone

 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Gone

Leave a Reply

