Tempted (100WordStory)

Strings of pearl and hidden diamonds.

Coming home late, always an excuse.

It wasn’t love she wasn’t doing it for, I gave her plenty

Not for attention, because I gave her all of mine.

She was seduced by gifts and expense

All that I could not afford.

I think that she still loves me

But I couldn’t supply the drug, the taste she has acquired.

I’ve bought a gun

And a mask to hide my face

Trying not to measure the lengths I’ll go

To keep her

“Nobody has to get hurt” I tell the jeweller

There’s been hurt enough.

via Daily Prompt: Tempted

Leave a Reply

