Invitation (100WordStory)

I guess you’re one of us now” said the gruff man.
One of us’ confirmed his nodding cohorts.

So I found myself in this dark place, feeling though I dwelt amongst ruins, bordered by cold stone and iron, stiff wire full of barbs.

And this obsequious soul of mine made itself at home, carving out what little comfort could the shadows offer.

My new life, in the stink and smoke. I took it as bravely as one can, though without aspiration.

Herded among the others and feeling very alone, tears come silently.

This is somewhere I never wished to be.

via Daily Prompt: Invitation

Leave a Reply

